Product Specialists are available
Mon-Fri 9am-5pm MST
Call or Text:
We are often asked if our supplements are vegan-friendly. On our website, we indicate that some of our products, including our flagship micronutrient formulation, Daily Essential Nutrients, are vegetarian-friendly. What is the difference between vegan and vegetarian-friendly? The definitions below should help answer the question and explain where Hardy Nutritionals products fall between the two categories.
What is vegetarianism?
According to the Vegetarian Society, vegetarians are people who do not eat the products or byproducts of animal slaughter.
Vegetarians do not consume:
However, many vegetarians do consume byproducts that do not involve the slaughter of animals. These include:
Vegetarians typically consume a range of fruits, vegetables, nuts, seeds, grains, and pulses, as well as “meat substitutes” such as tofu that derive from these food types.
Vegetarianism is generally less strict than veganism, so there are several well-known variations of the vegetarian diet. These include:
What is veganism?
Veganism is a stricter form of vegetarianism. Vegans avoid consuming or using any animal products or byproducts. The Vegan Society defines veganism as “a way of living, which seeks to exclude, as far as is possible and practicable, all forms of exploitation of and cruelty to animals for food, clothing, or any other purpose.”
Vegans strictly avoid consuming any foods or beverages that contain:
Strict vegans also extend these principles beyond their diet and will try, where possible, to avoid any product that directly or indirectly involves the human use of animals. These products can include:
Many vegetarians also apply some of these principles to their lifestyle, for example, by avoiding leather goods and products that involve animal testing.
At Hardy Nutritionals, many of our products are marked as "vegetarian friendly". The reasons our products are not marked as vegan are as follows:
These specific examples make our micronutrients vegetarian-friendly but not vegan.